Clara’s worst nightmare…

is being a dolly!
who wants to be empty, shallow and made of cheap plastic anyway… oh… actually I could think of a fair few people who do!! ;-P

I wanted Clara to feel like a puppet/dolly in her nightmare so tried making one.

Illustration of Clara for doll version

Illustration of Clara for doll version

Clara and t-shirt printed rag doll version

Clara and t-shirt printed rag doll version

I used photoshop to go over a photograph of Clara sprawled out on the floor and then printed a test version onto t-shirt printing paper – A4 size which was rather small but as I said it was mostly to test the idea.

In the above version I added a wire armature so that it could be manipulated into the stop motion but then thought that would be difficult to animate – and as Clara is a stop motion doll I figured that a graphic version in the nightmare would help viewers to see that she doesn’t feel her usual solid self… unfortunately, I’ve not used After Effects and the animation didn’t come out as I wanted… but I still plan to try and make some simple rag dolls of Clara and then a simple version of Iya as well.

Once I’ve fixed the problems with the cloth doll version I would like to make a screen print version – the t-shirt printer paper is shiny and plastic – it rubs off and also makes the cloth quiet stiff which is not want I want. I have one of those screen printing kits which I’ve been itching to try out for ages so hopefully I’ll sort the problems out soon… ie: the neck is awful and it also looks like she’s wearing shorts!

Leave a Reply

